The look for less

Isn’t it funny how much money we are willing to fork out to get “the look”? I’ll admit… I often consider the pros and cons of forking out a considerable amount just to get my hands on a certain product. I lust over the expensive garments and accessories worn on by the people who run Instagram accounts and blogs that I follow. I was on Pinterest and noticed the crazy high prices of Seed espadrilles and thought of the cute pair of cheaper ones I had seen on the Instagram account @c_hloebb (yep, she’s the lovely lady I interviewed here). It’s important to remind yourself that with a little research, it’s easy to find cheaper alternatives to expensive products. Below are four espadrilles in similar styles/patterns.

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 3.49.49 pm

 

 

 

 

 

Clockwise: Seed Bianca Leather Espadrille AU$99.95, Ruby Canvas Espadrille AU$49.95, ASOS Junction Espadrille $19.61, Molly III in White Leopard Pony AU$199

As you can see, the difference between the cheapest pair and the most expensive is quite a lot, and it just so happens that these two are my favourites out of the four. The photos don’t do them justice! However, I don’t think I’d be able fork out $200 for a pair of espadrilles unless I was rolling in cash to splurge and could do it without feeling guilty afterwards. I consider myself quite a decisive shopper – if I fall in love with something and I think the price is worth the quality and the wear I will get out of it, I’ll buy it instantly, almost impulsively. If I have any doubts whatsoever, I won’t. As much as I love the SENSO Espadrilles, it’s just not worth it for me. On the other hand, the ASOS pair are a far more reasonable price and just as gorgeous looking (see here).

It’s important to consider how much wear you are actually going to get out of a new purchase. Using the espadrilles example – if you’re going to wear them until they break, spending big dollars might not be such a bad idea. It’s likely they’ll be of better quality and will last longer – avoiding the task of buying new shoes regularly. HOWEVER, if they’re only going to be worn occasionally, go cheaper. Sometimes a cheaper product will even be of equal quality to a more expensive one.

It seems like common knowledge, but so often we get fixated by our perception of the brand that we lose sight of how much money we are spending. Advice to all the indecisive shoppers out there: if you love a piece of clothing or accessory but find yourself stuck deciding whether it’s worth it – focus on the value you are getting for money!

xxxxx

 

One thought on “The look for less

  1. Pingback: The Life of J – Week #1 | The World By J

Leave a Reply

