Online Store of the Week: The Iconic

If you live in Australia and love online shopping, chances are that you have heard of or purchased from The Iconic. The Iconic is similar to ASOS, based on the sheer amount of products listed on its site, but has an aura of sophistication which I think ASOS lacks. Not only can you find great deals (the Final Winter Clearance Sale is on now) but also more expensive items from the likes of White Suede, Sass and Bide and Calvin Klein.

Fotor0808223246I bought my Year 12 formal from The Iconic (“To Be Free” by Keepsake the Label) and I was far from disappointed. I bought it nine months before the event, so I would have had more than enough time to return it if I didn’t like it or it didn’t fit. Luckily, it was perfect and I fell in love with it the moment I tried it on. It looked even better in real life than it did in the photos – with online shopping it’s usually the other way around!

Although I can’t remember exactly how long it took to arrive on my doorstep, I know it was within a week. The Iconic now has free shipping for Australian and New Zealand orders over $50, and if you live in Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne or Perth you will receive your package on the next business day. If you need an outfit ASAP and live in Sydney or Melbourne, pay $9.95 to receive your goodies in three hours. Yep. THREE HOURS! That’s got to be some kind of record, and perfect for those of us who leave our party outfit shopping to the last minute! All orders are also free to return for 100 days, far better than many other online stores.

As for prices, it really depends on what your buying. Today, the New Arrivals ranged from as little as $10 all the way up to $999. So there’s something for everyones price range at The Iconic. The Iconic also differs from some of the other online stores I’ve written about in that it actually advertises on television (see above). Many other “home-grown” online stores in Australia rely on social media to attract their customers. Although The Iconic also uses channels such as Facebook and Instagram, its TV advertisements give it an advantage over competitors and add to its sophistication, thus targeting a slightly older market.

Screen Shot 2014-08-08 at 10.42.32 pmOn the downside, one thing which I dislike about The Iconic is the amount of time it takes for products to load. It’s only a minor fault but it’s something which frustrates me, because I like to scroll down the page quickly and expect to see photos that are already loaded! This problem has nothing to do with my internet connection or data, I checked! I also believe The Iconic could improve its allure by having its look-books easily accessible from, or appearing on, the homepage. Creative and high quality photo shoots would add something interesting and eye-catching to the website, rather than very plain and slightly blurry model photos which I find do not inspire me to look any further.

All in all, The Iconic is a great site to visit and purchase from, whether your looking for a reasonably priced clutch or luxurious leather jacket. The only place it is lacking is in aesthetics and I believe improving the websites appearances would potentially attract more customers. Unfortunately, the rest of the world will have to wait to purchase from The Iconic, as it currently only ships to residents in Australia and New Zealand. For everyone else, there are plenty of international alternatives to enjoy.

xxxxxxxx

2 thoughts on “Online Store of the Week: The Iconic

Leave a Reply

