Style vs. Comfort

spring-2014-high-heel-trends-top-2014-shoe-trends-for-women-1024x677

I love clothes. I love style. I love spending hours scrolling through pages and pages of products online and adding my favourites to the shopping cart (even if I’m not going to go through with the purchase). However, I’ve noticed lately that I am becoming more and more enamoured with being comfy, rather than giving in to being stylish 24/7.

No, I’m not one of those people walking around in Crocs. If I’m feel confident and the occasion warrants adding an extra 10cm to my height, I’ll go for it, especially if I really love the shoes. But I would definitely rather wear the right pair of flats, wedges or a low heel if I’m going to be on my feet for hours, or if there is a high potential of me tripping and falling over. I’m already clumsy, add high heels and a little too much to drink and it’s a recipe for disaster.

This doesn’t just apply to shoes. I used to be one of those people who could never dress for the weather. I’d wear a crop top and be too cold, or wear a thick jumper and be too hot. My feet would always be freezing! But I didn’t mind. You know what I’ve discovered in the last year or so? I don’t like being cold or uncomfortable if I don’t have to be – I DO mind.

I guess I can accept some degree of discomfort, but I would rather feel as good as I look, so I can wear my outfit with total confidence. So tell me, are you someone who thinks pain is a small price to pay for style? Or, if not, do you have any comfy yet fashionable product/brand/style recommendations for me? The general consensus seems to be if you spend a little extra (on shoes in particular), you will notice the quality in the comfort you experience. Do you agree? So many questions! Feel free to respond in the comment box below.

Enjoy the rest of your day!

xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

