Q&A: Student life

As you may know, I’m currently in my first year of university. Since I began sharing my blog with my followers on Tumblr, I have received quite a few questions in relation to my uni, my course and living in Melbourne. I’ve decided to post a few of my answers here for everyone to see and to help anyone who may have the same queries.

Q: If it isn’t to personal what uni do you go to and what is your course called? It sounds really interesting xxx
I attend La Trobe University and my course is called Strategic Communication 🙂

Q: I am thinking about doing a Communications/PR course after I finish school! Is it good? What subjects did you study in Year 12? Would do you have to be good at? Sorry about all the questions hahaha! Btw you have a beautiful blog xxxxxxx
I absolutely love studying communication! It’s so interesting, relevant and fun – it can lead you in so many different directions. My course allows me to learn about everything from PR through to journalism, marketing and event management. In Year 12 I studied English, English Lit, Legal Studies, Drama, Italian and Psychology. Some skills that are beneficial are being outgoing, being a skilled writer and speaker, being a great listener, being a problem-solver and being creative. I’d definitely recommend you do a Communication/PR course if you are passionate about it – just keep in mind that PR isn’t the only type of strategic communication, nor is it as glamorous as it’s made out to be.

Q: Hi, I’m a Year 12 student from Sydney. This is going to sound so odd – I stumbled across your wordpress and saw that you were attending La Trobe Melbourne, and I was wondering if you could give me advice? What have you heard about the on-campus accomodation? Menzies, Glenn and Chisholm college? Do people like it, hate it, etc? If you could please answer it would be incredibly helpful, thank you!
To be honest, I haven’t heard a whole lot about the campus accommodation and I don’t have any personal experience with it. It’s hard for me to imagine living on campus and enjoying it because I don’t have the need – I’m local and still live with my family at home.  What I do know is that each “college” seems to have a different vibe – i.e. Chisholm is very multi-cultural and houses a lot of international students. If you haven’t already you can find information and testimonials from students about the accommodation and each different college HERE. The facilities seem okay from the outside but I haven’t seen enough to make a real judgement. People who do live on campus seem to really love it and make close friends they will keep for life. I’m not sure how much it costs to stay on campus either (I’ve heard expensive – don’t know how correct that is) but if you’re planning on moving interstate for uni it’s worth trying it out, at the very least you will make some new friends and have a comfortable “home-base” in Melbourne for a while. You can always rent a place with a few roommates instead if you find that living on-campus isn’t for you.

Q: Hey, totally random question.. I’m thinking about moving to Melbourne, probs in the next year or so. What is it like living there? xxx
Melbourne is a great place to live. I keep reading that it has been voted one of the most liveable cities in the world and when I think about it, I can see why! I love living here. Melbourne genuinely just has a great atmosphere and culture. It can be a relaxing and calm place to be – or filled with excitement and things to do. There’s really something for everyone (wow – I sound like a tourism ad) and “liveable” is the perfect word to describe it. I’ve always been surrounded by a great environment with nice people, lots of facilities and opportunities. I don’t have experience living on my own in Melbourne, but I’m sure that it would be great!

I’d love to answer any other questions. You can read more about life at La Trobe and university here, or ask me a different question here.

Lots of love,

J

xxxx

Leave a comment